The defending champion Mumbai Indians and the runners-up Delhi Capitals will square off in Bengaluru on Friday in the Women’s Premier League’s second season, which will be hopeful that it will fulfill its existential goal of providing a greater platform for talented domestic players.

Jay Shah, the BCCI secretary, expressed his happiness on X on Friday.: “I am overwhelmed with gratitude as we commence on a new journey today with the start of Women’s Premier League Season 2. Our vision was to establish the biggest women’s cricket league, and I extend my heartfelt thanks to everyone who has contributed to turning this vision into reality.”

“Your unwavering commitment and enthusiasm has truly made @wplt20 into more than just a league; – it has become a celebration of cricket’s essence and companionship. A place where players thrive in sisterhood, where their skills on the field doesn’t come in the way of their off-field revelry. Their rules. Their rule. We present to you #TataWPL – Cricket Ka Queendom,” he added.

The lucrative tournament’s second edition will feature five teams competing over the course of 25 days in 22 matches. The Mumbai Indians are once again considered the favorites after defeating Meg Lanning’s Delhi Capitals in a thrilling victory in the league’s debut.

This season, Bengaluru and New Delhi will play each other twice in the same league. In the group stage round, each team will play the other four teams twice, with the winner moving on to the final.

The teams that place second and third will face off in the eliminator to earn a spot in the March 17 final in New Delhi.

Read More

Vijay Shekhar Sharma steps down as Chairman and Board Member of Paytm Payments Bank

“A sentiment for a generation”: Well-known people impacted by Pankaj Udhas reminisce

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *