Smriti Mandhana named ICC Women's T20 Team of the Year

Smriti Mandhana named ICC Women's T20 Team of the Year

India opener Smriti Mandhana on Wednesday has been named in ICC Women’s T20I team of the year for 2021. The team of the year statements by the International Cricket Council acknowledge the best players in women’s cricket who contemplated one and all with their performances in a calendar year.

With 255 runs at an average of 31.87, Smriti was India’s most elevated scorer in the format in 2021. She scored two fifties in the nine matches she played this year and got her team off to rapid openings regularly, as evident by her strike rate of 131.44.

It is also the third time Smriti has cut for the T20I team after 2018 (opener) and 2019 (number three). Interestingly, Smriti is the only Indian player in the eleven in which England’s Nat Sciver has been made the captain with no players from Australia — the reigning T20 World Cup champions — cutting the playing eleven.

Nat, the experienced England all-rounder, produced many impactful performances throughout the year. Batting in the middle-order, she scored a total of 153 runs, including one fifty, and backed it up by picking ten wickets at an excellent average of 20.20.

Various other England players consist of wicketkeeper-batter Amy Jones, left-arm spinner Sophie Ecclestone, openers Tammy Beaumont, and Danni Wyatt. The eleven announced by the ICC likewise has three South Africa players in batter Laura Wolvaardt and pacers Shabnim Ismail and Marizanne Kapp, aside from off-spin all-rounder Gabby Lewis of Ireland as well as off-spin bowler Loryn Phiri of Zimbabwe.

ICC Women’s T20I Group of the Year: Smriti Mandhana, Tammy Beaumont, Danni Wyatt, Gaby Lewis, Nat Sciver (captain), Amy Jones (wicketkeeper), Laura Wolvaardt, Marizanne Kapp, Sophie Ecclestone, Loryn Phiri, and Shabnim Ismail.

Read More:

Mohammad Azharuddin has said that Rohit should hand over the Test captaincy

Vaping increases the frequency of Covid 19 symptoms: Study

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *