IPL 2024: Yuzvendra Chahal makes history to reach 200 wickets

In Monday’s Match 38 at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, star bowler Yuzvendra Chahal of the Rajasthan Royals (RR) made history by becoming the first bowler in Indian Premier League (IPL) history to claim 200 wickets against the Mumbai Indians.The 33-year-old has an unrivalled record of taking wickets in the lucrative league; no bowler who is currently in action poses a threat to overthrow him anytime soon.

To reach the 200-wick mark, Chahal took the wicket of Mohammad Nabi for 23 runs. In his 153rd game, Chahal—who made his IPL debut in 2013—reached the feature. In addition to being the highest wicket-taker in the tournament’s history, Chahal has taken 13 wickets this IPL season, sharing the record.

Let’s look into the top ten players in IPL history in terms of wickets taken.

1. Yuzvendra Chahal – 200 wickets from 153 games

2. Dwayne Bravo – 183 wickets from 161 games

3. Piyush Chawla – 182 wickets from 186 games

4. Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 174 wickets from 167 matches

5. Amit Mishra – 173 wickets from 161 matches

6. Sunil Narine – 172 wickets from 169 matches

7. Ravichandran Ashwin – 172 wickets from 201 games

8. Lasith Malinga – 170 wickets from 122 games

9. Jasprit Bumrah – 158 wickets from 128 games

10. Ravindra Jadeja – 156 wickets from 233 matches

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *